Fort Bidwell Volunteer Fire Department [Home Page]

Fort Bidwell Fire Protection District

The Fort Bidwell Fire Protection District (FBFPD) is a California special district for fire protection. The three Commissioners are elected by voters in the district for four year terms. The district is an autonomous, local government under the laws of California, and is not a department of Modoc County. Operations are conducted by the Fort Bidwell Volunteer Fire Department. Neither the Fire District nor the Fire Department has any paid, compensated, or benefited staff, all are volunteers (California Government Compensation Report). The District was founded in 1946.

The district gets about $ 8,000.00  per year as its calculated share of the property taxes on owners within the district.  This includes secured, unsecured, supplemental, homeowner's exemption, and timber tax income (See Modoc Special District Estimated Tax Allocations 2012 (pdf)). This tax money covers Workman's Compensation and Liability insurance, and operational expenses up to the limit of available tax funds. Remaining costs are borne by the Fort Bidwell Volunteer Fire Department from the annual Memorial Day Barbeque. Equipment and engines are loaners, or used equipment bought with grants. District funds are kept and payed-out by the Modoc County Assessor's Office.

The 2010 US Census for the Fort Bidwell ZIP code, shows 214 persons living in our district with 149 housing units, 96 occupied. See Demographics for more detail.

Fire District Commissioners

  • Stuart Benner (expires 12/2020)
  • Susan Craig  (expires 12/2022)
  • Greg Small  (expires 12/2020)
  • Meetings 


Fort Bidwell Fire Protection District

Fort Bidwell Fire Protection District Map
Click image for larger map

The three District Commissioners are elected by the district voters at a County election, each for a term of four years. California Election Code 10515 requires that the County Board of Supervisors appoint the district commissioners if the number of persons declaring candidacy is less than or equal the number of positions to be filled. Such positions are not to be put on the ballot unless 10% of the district or 50 voters have petitioned to do so.

Related Links:

Page modified: 09 Feb 2020 19:35:39 -0800

This site is maintained by the Fort Bidwell Fire Commissioner/Secretary, but has neither been reviewed nor approved officially.     For comments or information contact
[Back to Top   [Home Page]